An argument for sewing your Amanda before continuing with the yoke

I finally got to the glorious moment of finishing all the parts before the join. Once all the parts were on the needles, it was pretty awkward to continue.  To solve the problem, I sewed all the seams together to bring the garment to a cohesive unit .  But why?

Ease of continuing with the yoke

Yoke gap

See that gap? Yeah, that can come right out!

After the setup row, the whole piece hangs on 4 purl stitches which are attached to open ends in the sweater.  That made me nervous that one good pull would unravel the stitch.

Stockinette edge is wonderful for seaming

Stockinette edge is wonderful for seaming

 

I started seaming at the underarm area to reinforce the decrease stitches.

2015-03-21 13.31.12

Once all 4 sides were sewn up, I was able to continue, but then I realized I could also solve another problem.

Ease of planning for the yoke

A number of people in our knitalong altered the yoke to reshape the collar.  It was hard for me to imagine how to do that without actually putting the sweater on!  At this point, the sweater was in a cape-like format so seaming the rest of it, the sleeves, and the sides was certainly going to get me to a point where the sweater was hanging on enough to take some measurements for the yoke.

Sleeves getting seamed

Sleeves getting seamed

Body front and back getting seamed.

Body front and back getting seamed.

Now, I can put the garment on take some measurements against other cardigans that I love.

Question: have you ever sewn up your sweater before starting on the yoke?
One thought on “An argument for sewing your Amanda before continuing with the yoke

Leave a Reply

